how i built my serverrr ୧ ‧₊˚ 🍓

server

<< mai new friend !!

I finally got to make my own personal server! I've been wanting to get into homelabs and networking for a while now and I'm really proud how this came together. I used a ZimaBlade board for this build because my intentions for this server are very lightweight and I wanted something I can travel with. I essentially use this as an archive/cloud file hosting.

The board is connected to a 1TB HDD. I decorated it with some recycled packaging from a Hello Kitty makeup compact and an elastic band I used from my local maker space. Setup was extremely easy compared to hardcore homelab development. I learned a lot about the internet works from doing this because I had to put effort into finding the device onto my network and since I've made this I've been reading a lot about the internet and cybersecurity. I realized our local networks are extremely easy to navigate which for this project was really convenient but also made me realize I'm not as safe online as I thought I was. It's nice to have the confidence though that all my important data is archived on a piece of hardware that's easy for me to access though! I don't have to worry about paying for a file hosting service or what other people might do with my important files. I've seen a lot of other really cool things people are doing with these boards and I definitely think I can give this server multi-purpose.

What I didn't like about this board is that there aren't a lot of accessible beginner tutorials. I'm also very disappointed in the fact this is designed to be dependent on very specific accessories that are a hassle to find outside of the brand. I prefer electronics that don't have niche power supplies and cables. I prefer things that are designed to be accessible because the alternative only exists to make more money off consumers rather than making sustainable products. I don't find it as easy to travel with as it could be, but I also acknoweldge it wasn't designed for someone who moves around as much as I do.

back of box

I'm really happy with how this came out! I've been getting a lot of use out of it for my needs. I don't want too speak to much about upgrades I have in mind, I rather let things be open ended and surprise myself.

there is so much more to learn and i look forward to it <3

next back return; archive;